Attitude Modeling by Matthew Landeen

Attitude Modeling – I define Attitude Modeling as the formation of attitudes learned by watching the attitudes of others around you.

The picture that I have posted with this post is a demonstration of both behavior and attitude modeling and I will explain more in depth why it is.  Yes this is a picture of me as a child and I never ever thought that I would someday use this for an example in social psychology.

Please click on the link below to try to open the picture, I hope this works.

themmmallard.jpg

In this picture I am modeling the behavior of my dad.  Most look to their parents as role models, and as young children want to grow up to be just like them.  Obviously at that age I had no clue what I was doing, and who knows if my dad did, but I wanted to be right there with him so I pulled out my plastic tool box and went to work.

I know that this picture is really a representation of behavior modeling, but the attitude I have now towards mechanics is a result of what is happening in the picture and what has happened over time.  My dad has always had the attitude that if someone can learn and do it so can he.  He is not a mechanic but there has only been a few times I remember him taking the family cars into the mechanic because he could not fix them.

I have modeled his attitude.  I believe that I can learn and do something just like anyone else.  While it really bothers me when my car stops working and I don’t know why, I really enjoy learning new things seeing if I can solve the problem by learning.  This is an attitude that I learned or modeled from my father.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

