Princess Conformity (by: Sara Walker)

Conformity is the tendency to alter one’s attitudes or behaviors in order to be accepted by a group.

You have to admit it: at one point Princess Diaries was your favorite movie.  I loved watching Mia’s transformation into a Princess because it gave me hope that I could grow out of my ugly duckling phase too.  However, Mia didn’t do anything special.  She just conformed to the expectations others had of her.  Her grandmother, the queen, expected her to be lovely, respectful, and well-mannered.  Mia conformed by changing her hairstyle, wearing more formal attire, and learning how to cross her legs like a princess.  She became more dignified, and as shown in this clip, her classmates accepted her and fawned over her because she conformed.

  1. #1 by caitlinrandall on May 15, 2012 - 7:11 PM

    Sara, I love this post! I thought of this clip too when I was considering what to blog about. Mia really does just conform to what society wants her to look like, and is suddenly gorgeous.. I guess conformity makes us beautiful?

    Caitlin Randall

Leave a Reply

