Deindividuation in “Lord of The Flies” by Matthew Landeen

Deindividuation – Doing together what we would not do alone.

I have not read the book “The Lord of The Flies.”  I have only seen about 10 minutes of the movie.  One of my friends tried to explain the whole thing to me and quite frankly I was really disturbed, but sometimes that is the case with deindividuation.

I am going to include a clip but with WARNING.  This clip has some bad language and some may get offended so view with discretion.

I can’t see any of these kids in this video behaving the way they did if they were alone.  In the clip you can notice that with more time they also change their appearance to have more physical anonymity.  This makes it easier to act in a way contrary to their personal beliefs and more towards group behavior.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

