Janel Glidden Overjustification Effect

Overjustification effect is the result of bribing someone to do what they are already doing.  This makes it seem like a task rather than something to do out of enjoyment.  Because it seems controlled, it is less appealing to the person doing the task, when originally they would be doing it anyway.

I always played volleyball for fun.  Once I was in college and on scholarship, it became more of a job and although I love the sport I think I may have enjoyed it less.  This is an example of overjustification effect.

I remember going to the Food and Care coalition and volunteeering my time.  When they offered me a job I felt silly because the pay wasn’t where I wanted it to be.

  1. #1 by austindp on June 5, 2012 - 12:55 PM

    This is interesting. Do you think your example may also illustrate reactance. In reactance you try and protect or restore your sense of freedom and maybe the scholarship and rules the school could then place on you limited your freedom not only within the game but also preparing and living the way you want to live. Very cool that you played volleyball but I think BYU is probably grateful for your presence at their university.

    Austin Peterson

Leave a Reply

