“Living an Altruistic Life” by Samuel Ramos

Altruism, the best gift we can bless someone with. It might be toward someone we love or one we are trying to love. In all honesty, it doesn’t matter who receives it, however what really counts is the act of giving away of our time and efforts to help our neighbor by expecting nothing in return. We all need to maintain this attitude so we can be ready to catch an opportunity as soon as we see it coming.

After being married for 2 years I’ve come to realize that altruism is applicable in almost everyday living with my spouse. Just recently, while my wife was in the application process for the MBA program at BYU, I was the one who had to spend more time cleaning the house and cooking dinners after work. At first it seemed very much a hassle, I didn’t feel like I had the time and thought I was wasting my time till I realized that this is what families are about. I never before had thought of the blessings I was receiving from walking the extra mile and carrying more load on my back than before so Carol could be successful in her study efforts.

In the end although my wife was accepted in the program, I was the one with the greatest reward. I’ve learned a little bit more about the importance of altruism and how it is necessary for social relationships to improve in a much faster pace.

  1. #1 by blarimer on May 30, 2012 - 3:04 PM

    Samuel, not only do I appreciate this great example of altruism for psychology’s sake, but I also am grateful that you got me thinking a little bit with this. I have been in a relationship for about six months and we are planning on getting married at some point, and I’ve thought about the extra responsibilities that will come about as a result and sometimes it can be a little overwhelming. But you’ve pointed out that marriage is given as a great opportunity to practice altruism and giving of oneself, and that helps reassure me that what’s to come should be welcomed as a blessing, and not as a burden. Thanks man.

Leave a Reply

