Shiz Kim Alvarado says

When I think of social comparison I think immediately of  this video:

This spawned more videos like Sh*t that blacks/whites/mormons/gays/mexicans/asians say, all of which focus on distinct groups of people and their behavior. Although these videos are done in a way that accentuates stereotypical opinions they also provide a means in which individuals can evaluate themselves by. If someone were to ask me if I considered myself a typical Mormon girl I wouldn’t even pause from my game of Halo Reach to tell them, “heck no.”  And then I watch this video:

After watching this video I compared my own opinions and colloquialisms to those demonstrated and found that if I reevaluated myself, I DO fall into the category of a “Mormon girl”. I don’t however, find it a stifling or constraining title.  Through social comparisons we can check our behavior with others in our social group to feel like we belong and yet  still cultivate and express our distinct individual self.

  1. #1 by Julia Hamilton on June 6, 2012 - 11:10 AM

    I found this post very interesting! It is funny how you don’t really see yourself as the norm but you still fall into a lot of the norm stereotypes. The part in the book about how we want to be seen as unique individuals but not too unique of individuals strikes me as very true. It also reminds me that part of the reason we are so similar is that violating social norms is painful because of peer policing. Not wanting to violate norms and be ostracized also contributes to our similarities, which give us peers to compare ourselves to. Thank you!
    Julia Hamilton

Leave a Reply

