Social support and the common cold by Matthew Landeen

This title comes from a study that was done with 276 volunteers who were infected with the cold virus.  They were quarantined for five days and observed.  Those under stress had a harder time fighting off the virus.

Health Psychology – The study of the psychological roots of health and illness.

Part of this idea is that when we become stressed our immune system has a harder time fighting off whatever virus we are exposed to.  In this clip from “Guys and dolls” Adelaide is upset and stressing out because she has been engaged to Nathan, who is played by Frank Sinatra, for 10 years and feels like he is never really going to marry her.  listening to the lyrics you can see that she is worried about getting old and being single.  She explains that all of this can cause a patient to develop a cold.

This has to be my least favorite part of this movie.  I can hardly stand watching her sing, but it was a good example so I had to show it.

Right before I got accepted to BYU I just broke up with my girlfriend of six months.  I was working a full-time job, a part-time job, and was serving on Phi Theta Kappa.  I guess the stress of all of this killed my immune system and I got super sick.  I am a healthy person and almost never get sick, but the stress got to me.  So take some time each day to relax and unwind so you can avoid getting sick.

  1. #1 by kcalvarado1989 on June 5, 2012 - 6:18 PM

    This is an excellent example of the effects that stress has on health, although I would agree that the singing is not the most pleasant (barabara streisand did an excellent cover) it does prove a point. Similiar to yourself I found that when I started my graveyard job and attended school full time I was getting sick more often and that was even when I get manage to get 8 hours of sleep!

Leave a Reply

